In Legal Terms

Share

In Legal Terms: Turning 18 Encore

ENCORE FROM 07/13/2021


Anyone have a 16 to 21-year-old? Or know one? What do you need to know that you can or can’t do when you turn 18? Are you an adult? Are the parents still “in charge”?

Guest: attorney Baskin Jones https://injuredinmississippi.com/ who was on our show January 26th 2021 when we talked about Cycling and Insurance. http://inlegalterms.mpbonline.org/episodes/in-legal-terms-cycling-and-insurance


MS Code 1-3-27:

The term “minor,” when used in any statute, shall include any person, male or female, under twenty-one years of age.

The Legal Documents You May Want When Your Child Turns 18

Healthcare Proxy (also referred to as a healthcare agent or medical power of attorney, a healthcare power of attorney, or durable power of attorney for health care)

Mississippi healthcare proxy form:

https://www.nrc-pad.org/images/stories/PDFs/mississippi_hcpa.pdf

HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act) authorization (also called a HIPAA release)

Mississippi HIPPA form:

https://eforms.com/images/2016/10/Mississippi-HIPAA-Authorization-Form.pdf

Durable Power of Attorney (Durable POA)

 Separate forms for medical and finances.

https://eforms.com/power-of-attorney/ms/mississippi-durable-power-of-attorney/

Advance Directive Form:

https://eforms.com/power-of-attorney/ms/mississippi-advance-health-care-directive/


What you can do at 18:

  1. Vote
  2. Join the Military
  3. Register for Selective Service
  4. Get a pody piercing or tattoo
  5. Sign a contract


What you CAN NOT do at 18:

  1. buy a lottery ticket
  2. change your name
  3. open a brokerage account or buy stock
  4. be called for jury duty


More Episodes

1/17/2023

In Legal Terms: Wage Law

Let’s start the new year off right, making sure your compensation is fair and legal. Today we’ll discuss wage and hour law with our guest, attorney Francis Springer. We’ll learn about the Fair Labor Standards Act and how it regulates how many employees are paid. https://www.springerlawoffice.com/The FirstStep Poster Advisor is one of a series of elaws (Employment Laws Assistance for Workers and Small Businesses) developed by the U.S. Department of Labor to help employers and employees understand their rights and responsibilities under Federal employment laws. Available in English and other languages, the poster may be downloaded free of charge and printed directly from the Advisor - free of charge. We’ll have a link to that site on the show information for this broadcast.https://webapps.dol.gov/elaws/firststep/results.htm?fs=CN0D00000GYNN0000000NNYYN00000000MS#flsaIf you’re interested in hearing a discussion about minimum wage, that was a topic covered by MPB’s Money Talks when their guest was State Economist, Corey Miller. You can find a link to that podcast from March 16th of 2021 on the show information for this podcast.http://moneytalks.mpbonline.org/episodes/money-talks-minimum-wageWhat about minimum wage in Mississippi? We have no state minimum wage law. It’s one of 5 states, including Alabama, Louisiana, Tennessee, and South Carolina that haven’t set a wage minimum separate from the federal rate which currently is $7.25 per hour.https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/minimum-wage/state